Improve Curb Appeal: Pt. 2–Paint Your Door

easy ways to improve curb appeal

I’m back to show another improvement we have made to the outside of our house to make it look more inviting. My first post on the matter is HERE.

Granted, this change took a little more work, but the result was SO worth it.
This is our front door before.

blue door (2)

I sanded it down just a little to give it a rough feel and get rid of paint drips from the previous paint job. Then I taped it all off and got to work. I painted the door Fairmont Penthouse Mosaic Blue by Valspar. (Yup, LONG name, but it is my new favorite color.) It is a deep, dark turquoise. When I put on the first coat I almost didn’t want to keep going since there were so many different shades of blue that showed. I think I will find a project where I can leave an “unfinished” look with streaky blues.

Here it is after one coat. It’s kind of pretty, right?

blue door (3)

Here it is after about 3 coats. You can still see some of the different shades. I think it took 4 coats to get full coverage. It still looks very “deep” though.

blue door (6)

And the finished product.

door after (2)

Oh, and I made a new wreath. 🙂

I saw this one here and have wanted to make one ever since.

via A Bit of Sunshine
(please pin to original source)

I finished the first half while we were down in Oklahoma with family, but then ran out of felt. One trip to Hobby Lobby later and…

hello wreath (2)

What can I say, I love bright colors. I thought it needed something in the middle so I made some mini bunting for it.

hello wreath

First, I was going to put “summer”, but then I thought “hello” would be more inviting. I tried using mini clothespins, but they were too heavy, so I just hot glued the flags to the twine.

All in all, I love how it turned out.

door after (2)

Carrie This Home

13 thoughts on “Improve Curb Appeal: Pt. 2–Paint Your Door

  1. I love the new door color! I have a bungalow like your’s and it is in dire need of a paint job. We have picked the colors, but that is as far as we’ve gotten. Right now it is a very faded sort of sage green with a white door and it will be a deep taupe (or light cocoa?) with an orangy-red door. It is so bland like it is now! I have always wanted an red door, but I have to say, I love the navy. Your blue is beautiful and yes, it will give it major curb appeal!

    Thanks for sharing at TT&J!

    Jenny

  2. I absolutely LOVE the blue color you chose! It’s so rich and full of life! Painting the front door is a great way to add curb appeal without spending too much!
    Would you mind to link this up to my blog hop? Our readers love to see frugal DIY projects like this! Just click on the “Carrie This Home” next to my picture and it will take you right to the hop. Thanks so much!!!

  3. What a great way to add curb appeal. Love the technique you used on the door. And the wreath is super cute! My husband is redoing our front porch and could use this tips. Thanks for sharing at the Frugal Crafty Home Blog Hop! Hope to see you back!

    Katie @ The Casual Craftlete

Leave a comment