Easy Ways to Improve Curb Appeal

Remember the last time I posted something crafty/non-personal?

**crickets**

Yeah, me neither. I can’t say that it’s because I’ve been super busy, either. Sure, I’ve been busy some, but I just haven’t taken the time to sit down and blog. That does NOT mean that I haven’t still been making things and creating wonderfully made pursuits. I have even taken some pictures. Again, just haven’t shared them all with you. I hope you can forgive me.

I am going to try to post some of the things I have made and the things I am currently working on. But I do still have an almost one year old to take care of, so you might have to give me some grace still. Mmkay?

One thing I did was try to make the outside of our house look a little more inviting and be a reflection of us.

easy ways to improve curb appeal

Now this is a true before picture. This is what our house looked like when we bought it. We have since replaced the windows, replaced the roof, torn out the big bushes in front, and started to transplant hostas directly in front of the house.

The first obvious thing I did this spring to improve curb appeal was to wash the front of the house. We don’t have a power washer (that would have been wonderful) so I hand washed the front including the screen door and mailbox.

curb appeal (3)

The right side is squeaky clean! The left..not so much. Ignore the eerily lopsided number. And yes, you can see all the way through the house to Mika standing at the back door. I also swept off the front porch and weeded!

I even gave the mailbox a coat of white spraypaint to make it shine.

curb appeal (2)

Then I hand painted our name and a fun paisley design.

curb appeal (5)

Next up was our poor, old welcome mat. It was a lovely wedding present from a lovely friend, but two years of weather had taken their toll. I don’t know if you can tell, but it used to have lots of red fish swimming across a vibrant blue  background with one blue fish that said “hello” on it.

doormat (3)

I painted the whole thing with 2 coats of bright blue spray paint.

doormat (8)

Then I got out a stencil I found on clearance at Hobby Lobby a long time ago and had yet to use. It was the paisley pattern I used as my inspiration for the mailbox. I taped it down around my mat and used a foam brush and A LOT of yellow acrylic paint.

doormat (10)

I knew the pattern didn’t have to come out precise and I knew it wouldn’t because of the rough texture of the welcome mat. I let the first part dry and then did the same thing for the other half. I originally was going to stencil the entire thing, but decided that I kind of like the pattern just as a strip across the middle.

 welcome mat

Here you can see the two together. We’re not done with sprucing up the front of the house, but it’s a nice start. Up next I’ll show you how I painted the front door. I also have some plans for DIY shutters and who knows what else?! I would love to put some sort of chair or bench on the front porch to fill up some of the space. Maybe even a potted plant or two. And I NEED to do something about those house numbers and repaint the columns on the porch.

curb appeal (4)

Hopefully you found a takeaway to improve your own curb appeal (if that’s what you were hoping for).

So far my takeaways have been 1) CLEAN. 2) REPAINT. 3) ADD COLOR.

 

 

Leave a Reply

