Two years Ago Today: A Love Story

Two years ago today I was asked one of the most important questions of my life:

“Will you marry me?”

27749_513632585381_136000062_30558656_4914685_n
(RIGHT after we got engaged)

If you already heard this story (several times) feel free to roll your eyes and move on to something else. OR you can muster up the romantic in you and sigh along with the gushy parts.

I KNEW I was going to marry this man, but I was also 100% convinced that he did NOT have a ring yet. The mister was verrry good at keeping me off the scent. He’s actually quite fabulous at surprises.

So, it was the day before my birthday, I was over at his apartment opening up and playing with my new presents, and I was OBLIVIOUS.

You would have thought that I had had a clue since I told him I wanted to wear our matching, “bet-ter toge-ther” shirts that I had made us for Valentine’s Day.
OR the fact that I had asked him to sing the song he wrote for me at Christmas on my birthday.

better together
(Valentine’s Day 2010)

Nope. Oblivious.

Even as he started to sing, I was really only half paying attention, sitting on his chords/words and trying to mess him up. Classic, Liz, classic.

It wasn’t until he got to the last phrase of the song, which he had changed to “Will you marry me?” that my heart started to beat fast.

P1040776

He got down on one knee.

My head started reeling, ‘Is this really happening?’

“I know you said you’d marry me with a cracker jack ring..”

He reached into his pocket and pulled out…a massive, FAKE, diamond ring/napkin holder.

29766_646133376833_46200529_36393328_2437041_n

BUT then,

he pulled out the real ring and I kissed him and hugged him and said ‘yes’ over and over again!

And he was all, “Are you gunna take the ring?” 😉
Best. Birthday. Ever.

He is the most honorable, strong, godly, funny, passionate, loving, tender, goofy man I have ever known and I am so proud and blessed to call him my husband.
I will forever be thankful to our Heavenly Father for bringing us together.
I can’t wait to start this journey called parenthood together and see him in the role of “daddy” because I know he is going to be SO good at it.

I love you, baby.

P1040576

P.S. Tomorrow is my birthday!!

One thought on “Two years Ago Today: A Love Story

  1. I love you too baby! I can’t wait to celebrate your birthday with you! If your birthdays corresponded with the Hunger Games, this would be the first Quarter Quell… Just saying. 🙂

Leave a Reply

