#LizJournalsTheBible Again

I received a lot of positive feedback from my last blog post about my personal journey with Bible journaling. (Read that: here) I heard both from people that I know and people I’ve never met about how they enjoyed seeing my work and how they were inspired to try it on their own. This was encouraging to me for deeper reasons that just positive affirmation or “likes”. This form of creative worship has reignited a passion for God’s Word in me. Whenever I am hesitant to show others the pages of my Bible, I remember that I was introduced to Bible journaling through the courage of others sharing their posts on social media. I was encouraged by others to dig into and interact with Scripture, and I get the blessing of possibly doing that for others.
How awesome is that? How awesome is God! (Answer: super awesome x infinity)

So, my plan for this post is to share a few more pages with you (and possibly some of my heart). Most of these are from a few months ago, but it is really cool to see the growth of my journaling and to be able to revisit each passage. When I look things up in my Bible now I am able to be reminded of truths over and over as I flip through and see what God has been teaching me.

liz journals the Bible (18)

“We don’t have to wait for inspiration to share the Gospel because God’s Word is already inspired.”
These pages were mostly journaling, but I did a watercolor wash with stamped words on the right.

liz journals the Bible (12)

The more I spend time in the Bible, the more connections I see between different passages and books of the Bible. One thing I’m realizing is how the gospel seems to be absolutely everywhere.

bible journaling gospel (2)

bible journaling gospel (3)[1]

“The gospel is the good news of the life, death, and resurrection of Jesus Christ.”

See. Gospel.
(Side note, it wasn’t until I typed that out just now that I realized I spelled ‘resurrection’ wrong. I can’t even tell you how many times I’ve misspelled or left letters out of words. It doesn’t have to be perfect to be worship.)

”We are more sinful and flawed in ourselves than we ever dared believe, yet at the same time, we are more loved and accepted in Jesus Christ than we ever dared hope.” –Tim Keller

liz journals the Bible (40)

When I have bleed through from the opposite side of a page, this is one of my favorite tricks. I glue in some pretty paper or cards and then journal on top of them.

I LOVE learning about my identity in Christ.
This is something that I never get tired of hearing about and always, always need the reminder.

liz journals the Bible (23)

This entry was strongly inspired by this print on Etsy.
I used watercolor and pen for the tree, and the gold “leaves” on the bottom are actually washi tape.

“Even the disciples felt like they needed more faith.”

liz journals the Bible (19)

“It is not the SIZE of my faith, but WHO my faith is in that truly matters.”

I am loving how even by virtually flipping through the pages of my Bible like this, I am still seeing connections and being reminded of truths. Seriously, God’s Word is awesome and living and breathing.

liz journals the Bible (25)

This one I did horizontally in the margin during a Lent study.

liz journals the Bible (24)

This was another entry leading up to Easter.  A lot of the time I try to coordinate entries that are on pages across from each other, but sometimes the contrast lets them stand on their own as separate thoughts.

liz journals the Bible (31)

“Strength for today and bright hope for tomorrow”

I’m pretty sure I was inspired by an image for this one, but I can’t seem to find it. It might have been from the SheReadsTruth site which is where I find each day’s Bible reading plan and I journal a lot from those writers also.

liz journals the Bible (47)

I’ll leave you with a hymn journaled in the “bonus space” at the end of I Timothy. Sometimes there is only a little bit of text on the page at the end of a book and then there is so much more space to use!

Thanks for taking a peek at my Bible with me. I hope you were inspired by God and his Word and maybe even feel led to go interact with the Bible on your own. Seriously, once I gave myself permission to draw and highlight and paint and journal in my Bible, I have been able to retain so much more from my Bible reading. I could jump on a soapbox of how God is a CREATOR God and He created us to make things and how we bring Him glory though that. But I’ll spare you..for today.

Let me know if you have any questions and I love love hearing your feedback. I plan to do another post again soon (ish) and share what tools I use and a few more pages that I’ve done more recently.

Leave a Reply

