Benjamin 3 Months

Growing like a weed…

3 months ben (2)

Ben 3 months old

3 month Collage

It’s no big surprise, but I am in love with this little man. He is such a people person and loves giving smiles and chuckles to anyone who will give him the time of day. He talks and squeals and goos and is very talkative all the time.

If you follow me on facebook then you know that he is also scooting all over the place. He does this thing where he arches his back and pushes with his feet and can wriggle all over the floor now. This means that we have to be a bit more vigilant about strapping him in and not leaving him on elevated places (like the couch).

He had a very exciting month with visits from his grandparents (my parents—yay!) and his Oklahoma cousins. He did so well with varying schedules and being passed around and all that goes with that. Every time we saw his cousins the first thing they each would do (unprompted) was come right over to him and give him a kiss on the head. So sweet. He, of course, loved all of the snuggles he got from my parents .

Since about 2 1/2 months he has been pretty consistent with sleeping “through the night” about 6-7 hours and only getting up once in the night and then the early morning. Of course there are exceptions and I don’t mean to advertize his sleeping habits since I know that can be a sore spot for some. But this is a where I document a lot of his progress and development and so it is the record I keep for myself. He goes anywhere from 2-4 hours between nursing, but usually it’s around 3 which makes me real happy. We have been very successful with the wake/eat/play/sleep pattern and he usually does okay with being laid down to fall asleep on his own.

Sometimes the “schedule” goes out the window or he just wants to be held to sleep and I have been SO okay with that this time around. There seems to be a lot less stress and mom guilt for me this time around. With Ellery I was so intent on doing things “the way we were supposed to do them” and now I realize that I can create good habits, but I also can decide what is best (or what I want) in any given situation because I AM HIS MAMA. hah! It has been very freeing to just sit and snuggle when I want to or whatever it may be.

He still takes about 3 naps in a day and today when he woke up from two of them Ellery and I went in to get him from his crib. Even though he was staring at the wall as soon as he heard our voices (both times) he would start smiling and cooing. Then Ellery (carefully of course) would go in his crib with him and bounce on the mattress. They both loved it. Then we played a game of “where’s your smile” and I would get smiles from Ben and Ellery alternatively. I love how she loves to interact with him and even watch us interact with him. She is such a good big sister.

Keep posted for a 2 year update on her. Crazy. Town. My baby girl is two.

Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

