Introducing Benjamin David

So, I had a baby.

And then completely neglected posting anything about him on this. I have been taking (some) pictures and trying to document some things from the beginning of his little life, but I have also been taking care of a newborn and a toddler so you can understand why I’ve been a little quiet.

Also, we forgot to bring the camera to the hospital, so all the pictures we took were on our phones and the quality may be a little lacking.

He was originally due on April 28th, but the due date was moved to May 8th because he was measuring small. Both of those dates came and went and it seemed like baby boy was going to have to be induced just like his sister. This was very frustrating for me since I had hoped he might come early or at least on time since we had moved the due date, he was my second baby, and they were only 21 months apart. I was really hoping to go into labor on my own and avoid using pitocin. However, I knew that what was most important was that baby was healthy. How could I complain when I had a healthy, full term baby that was just really comfortable in my tummy? (Okay, so I complained a little, but I tried to keep things in perspective as much as I could.)

So we scheduled an inducement on May 12th (6 days overdue) and planned to go in to the hospital on Monday morning with our eviction notice in hand. However, I was pleasantly surprised when contractions started on their own the day before—on Mother’s Day!

I was putting Ellery down for her nap around 1:00 when I felt contractions start. Every one else was resting, but even though I knew I might be going into labor I didn’t feel tired. So I finished up some projects that I knew I wouldn’t have time for after baby came like painting a side table. When contractions started getting close together I started keeping track and then showed Mike the long list of times. We went in to the hospital around 5:00 when contractions were 3-5 minutes apart. I was trying not to get my hopes up too much in case it was false labor or something. I was trying to prepare myself for the possibility of being sent home. Thankfully, I was 3-4 cm dilated and they got us a room!

We got settled in and even had a few visitors while we waited for things to progress. My doctor had been at the hospital for a few days straight already and was grumpy a little anxious for my labor to get going. She didn’t seem to think I was uncomfortable enough to be in active labor. I certainly wasn’t enjoying the contractions, but they were still manageable and I was fine in the minutes between each one. I think it was around 11:00 when the doctor decided she would break my water (DURING a contraction) to help things along. Let me tell you, that did not feel good. She was much more satisfied with my level of “uncomfortableness” after that as contractions came much more strongly and closer together. After about an hour I decided to get the epidural.

By this time I think I was around 8-9 cm dilated and the doctor went to get a little more sleep before baby decided to come. I had a super sweet nurse (mad props to nurses) who really wanted baby to come before her shift ended at 3:00 since she had been with me the whole time. She had me do a “practice push” at 2:00, but then had me stop pretty quickly because baby was ready! She called the doctor, but was prepping Mike for pushing the “emergency everybody come help me button” if she had to deliver the baby herself. The doctor did make it time and I only had to push a few more times for baby Benjamin David to make his appearance at 2:36.

IMG_20140512_030203

ben in hospital3 

ben in hospital

He weighed 7 lb 7.9 oz and was 20 1/4 long. We did skin to skin right away and he wanted to nurse and has been a good eater ever since! This was a huge answer to prayer since Ellery had so much trouble eating/gaining weight right away.

IMG_20140512_084512

Ellery has really embraced her role as big sister from the very beginning and we were so glad that my mom was able to be here for his birth and a few days after.

IMG_20140512_102004

siblings and grandma

Our family of four

family of 4

And here’s a little comparison for you…

elle and ben thumbs Collage

There were so many answers to prayer over the past month and we have been blessed beyond what we could ever express. We all adore our little man and are so grateful that he is a part of our family.

More updates to come. Thanks for reading!

One thought on “Introducing Benjamin David

  1. What a WONDERFUL Mommy’s Day gift! I think it is so funny that they’re both sucking their thumbs at 1 week old. 😛 Love to you, Sister! So happy for you! (the being a good eater = a boy thing) ❤

Leave a Reply

