Some Thoughts on the What If’s of Life

I am one of those people that really enjoy having background music going during most of my day. I alternate between toddler music for Ellery some soft Indie type music for me. Well, I was listening to music yesterday and the song “What If” by Ingrid Michaelson came on. I like the song and I think some of the lyrics are clever. But, I was already in a somewhat emotional-pregnancy-hormone state made worse by CHOOSING to watch or read some sad things. (See latest episode of Parenthood and a really sad story on a blog about the loss of a child.) So I started to think of some of it a little deeper.

“What if we stop having a ball?
What if the paint chips from the wall?
What if there’s always cups in the sink?
What if I’m not what you think I am?
What if I fall further than you?
What if you dream of somebody new?
What if I never let you win, chase you with a rolling pin?
Well what if I do?”

What-if_

(source)

There are a lot of “what if’s” in life. Some more serious than others. What if I really never can get caught up on the laundry? What if it just keeps getting colder outside? What if something happened to my health or my parents’ health? What if something happened to my child?

I think we all have some version of these thoughts that go through our mind at one point or another. We are not promised an easy or pain-free life. In fact, unexpected circumstances that hurt are pretty much a given. (Debbie downer much, Liz?)

It makes me that much more thankful that I am not in control, but serve a God who is and is ALL good, ALL loving, and ALL powerful.

psalm-33_4-5
(source)

Psalm 33:4-7 TLB

“For all God’s words are right, and everything he does is worthy of our trust.  He loves whatever is just and good; the earth is filled with his tender love. He merely spoke, and the heavens were formed and all the galaxies of stars. He made the oceans, pouring them into his vast reservoirs.”

The whole chapter is really good. Those are just some thoughts from my day to yours.
Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

