Recent Happenings

Well, we survived our trip to the east coast and back. But, just barely. 😉

My mom drove out to Iowa 2 weeks ago, stayed a few days, and then the three of us drove back to PA together (mom, Ellery, and me). We did it without stopping—next time we will STOP for the night—and it took us around 20 hours. Our thinking was that if we just kept driving then Ellery would at least get to sleep through the night and we wouldn’t have to do a second day traveling with her. Well, she woke up in the middle of the night, wide awake and DONE with the car seat. And on top of that she started a high fever that continued for the next several days.

pa trip (1)

 pa trip (2)

The whole trip turned out to be quite an adventure with lots of ups and downs. However, there were SO many things that I was thankful for that far outweigh the hard parts. I was SO THANKFUL to be able to spend so much time with my momma and see her loving on my daughter. There is absolutely no way that I would have been able to do any part of that trip without her. From taking turns driving at crazy hours of the morning, to washing so many dishes for me, to making my favorite meals at home, to being a support in every way possible. I appreciate her so much and can’t even name all the ways she loved on me this past week. I love you momma!

pa trip (3)

pa trip (4) 

I was also SO thankful to spend time with the rest of my family. I have so many treasured memories from dancing at my cousin’s wedding to celebrating the twins in my sister-in-law’s belly at her shower. A month ago I didn’t think I’d be able to go to either of those big days and I am so thankful I did! I loved the time and inside jokes with my sisters (in law), nephew, brothers, and daddy. Not too mention getting to see lots of old friends that I would dig a tunnel to try to live a little closer to.

girls

So, despite Ellery getting sick and having a heat rash and never letting me out of her sight and soiling her car seat, it was a great trip! We were, of course, very excited to get back home and see daddy. Time apart really made me appreciate all the many ways he helps me and makes me better all the time. I don’t know what I would do without him, even having just a little taste of what that would be overwhelmed me. I am so grateful for him and what he means to me (and Ellery.)

As far as some of our more regular happenings around here, we are still waiting for any real steps from the little one. She is so strong and continues to gain more balance, but is still content to crawl around everywhere. Our big challenge lately has been keeping her out of the dog’s dishes. She loves to scamper over to them and splash in the water, try to eat the dog food, or transfer the dog food into the water. We have been trying to redirect her, but so far she is deterred by almost nothing. We don’t have anywhere to put the dishes that Mika could still get to them, but Ellery couldn’t.

She has been growing in leaps and bounds with words and sounds. She babbles a lot and it seems like she thinks there is meaning behind her words. She is working on “bye bye” and “baby”. She will read aloud to herself sometimes, and has started holding my cell phone up to her ear and talking.

Before last week, she preferred being laid down by herself to nap and refused to fall asleep on/near us. With all of the traveling and different surroundings, she would scream if I tried to lay her down, but fell asleep on me, on the couch, on the bed, etc. Since then she has been much more cuddly with me and Mike, something we both are big fans of. Usually she doesn’t hold still long enough to cuddle, but now she likes coming over and laying her head down on us. I can’t believe she is 13 months already, and look forward to see how she changes more and more.

Leave a Reply

