The Changing of the Seasons: A Faux Mantle’s Story

So I have really been wanting to post more on this old bloggity blog. I’m amazed/thankful that I’ve been able to stay faithful with the Ellery updates, but for a while now that is all that I have posted and I kind of miss sharing some of my projects. I still make stuff as often as I can and I usually even take pictures to share, but then that’s as far as it goes.

I have updated our mantle several times, but then the season/holiday passes before I blog about it. So, I think I’ll share some of the different mantles I have had and then I’ll show you the one I decorated today. Keep in mind, we don’t really have a mantle, so I work with what we do have.

Valentine’s Day

Valentine's Day Mantle 2013 (2)

I made the conversation heart specimen art the previous year for V-day, and the 3D flower heart art and alphabet I LOVE YOU this past year. (More tutorials that I never posted..). The tulips were from my love and are one of my favorite flowers. The red books are from our wedding and the pictures are obviously of the mister and I.

Valentine's Day mantle Collage

Easter mantle

easter mantle (2)

I also experimented with less eggs which made it look a lot simpler/cleaner.

easter mantle (4)

I cut out the Easter eggs from my paint chip collection, cut some triangles out of scrapbook paper for bunting, and glued on the letters that I cut out with my Silhouette. The Bible is turned to Isaiah 53 and the cross is from Hobby Lobby. I made the paper flowers a while ago and then just glued on some sticks for stems. The white vases are also leftover from our wedding. And the egg is an egg shaker!

Easter mantle Collage

Then I took away the eggs for spring (after Easter).

spring mantle Collage

Current mantle
(bright, fun, colorful, almost-summer mantle)

summer mantle (2)

I covered those red books with brown paper (from a paper bag and some brown wrapping paper) so I could use my new bicycle bookends from Design Atelier Article that I won from a giveaway on East Coast Creative. It took a little while for them to get to me (they had to come all the way from Ukraine!), but as soon as the package arrived I KNEW I had to display them.

I created a little felt flower bunting by clipping the flowers on some twine. The sunflower paper flowers are left over from some I made for a  baby shower this past Sunday (more to come from that soon I hope). The green fabric and Dream sign were just hanging around the craft room. I love challenging myself to decorate with things that I already have around the house. Saves money and forces me to be extra creative.

summer mantle Collage

And that, my friends, is the evolution of our mantle in the past several months. Thanks for sticking with me through sparse posts and catch-up.

CraftyScrappyHappy

Leave a Reply

