DIY Pantry Canister Labels and Daily Menu Board

I have often envied admired those cute, little pantries with wallpaper backed shelves, lines of organized food standing next to each other like little soldiers, and cute labeled containers housing assorted goods.

Well, that’s kind of a pipe dream for me since we don’t have a pantry in this house. We have a cabinet in the dining room that holds most of our miscellaneous foods and other assorted pockets of storage around the house.

BUT, I am not one step closer to my dream with these labels!

pantry labels Collage

I would like to take this moment to thank my Silhouette and the wonderful, strikingly handsome husband that gifted it to me for making projects like this possible.

What a sweet moment. : )

Okay, so the first thing I did was cut out the shape I wanted on some vinyl with my Silhouette. Yes, you can’t see it very clearly. Yes, if you look closely you can see that I didn’t space things correctly and I cut off the right side of my second column of shapes. What of it?

pantry labels (2)

Then, I cut around each shape and took it out so that I was left with a stencil. See? Then I did my very best to stuck each stencil perfectly even on my food canisters.

pantry labels (3)

I used some handy chalkboard paint I had lying around and filled in each stencil. I made sure the vinyl was pressed down well so that no paint would leak underneath. I tried using a foam brush at first, but honestly a regular paintbrush worked much better. Either way, there were brush strokes visible, which I think is unavoidable with this kind of paint.

pantry labels (5)

This took about 3 coats of paint especially for the white canisters.

pantry labels (6)

When all was said and done and I pulled off the vinyl (which is basically the best part of a project like this..the reveal!) it peeled off some of the paint with it.
Oh. Sad. Day.

Thankfully, I was able to use a black paint pen to fill in the missing parts.

pantry labels (8)

Here they all are on our little shelves right by the side door entrance/stairs to the basement. Aka..our pantry.

pantry labels (13)

I do hope to paint and maybe stencil this space someday to make it a little more impressive.

pantry Collage

The menu board was much simpler to make.
I painted an old mirror with the chalkboard paint.

pantry labels (7)

This took at least 4 coats since the mirror likes to reflect any spots that you miss.
Then I used the leftover shapes and stuck them to the board. I used a black sharpie to write the days of the week on them.

(There was only room for six, so I just did Monday-Saturday, but we do dinner at our small group on Sunday nights so it worked out.)

pantry labels (12)

And, yes, apparently “paninies” is misspelled. It’s paninis.
Lesson learned.

So far it has made life A LOT easier. I just sit down for a couple minutes at the beginning of the week and plan out what meals we should have. It completely eliminates the “What do YOU think we should have for dinner?” conversation.

pantry labels Collage

I love it.

Leave a Reply

