DIY Nerd Clock

I have been excitedly waiting to share this with you, but since it was a BIRTHDAY present for my wonderful hubby and I know he reads this, I had to keep it a secret!

diy nerd clock

The birthday boy had mentioned a while back that he needed a clock in the garage his shop, and I was more than happy to supply one!

In case you don’t know, my husband is a nerd math teacher. He already has two math clocks, this being one of them:

Via thinkgeek

So I thought it’d be fun to do something in the same genre, but obviously different than the ones he already has.

Insert THIS clock.

via ForMenGifts

I thought about just buying it, but where’s the fun in that??
Plus, it would cost me upwards of $30..for a clock..made out of plastic.

My version cost me $8.

P1050023

I saw this clock at a dollar general store and knew I could transform it. You can’t really tell from this picture, but it’s bigger than the average clock which I thought would be good for the garage.

When I got it home I unscrewed the back and took it apart so that I could change the face of the clock.

**Disclaimer: When you buy a clock from the dollar store make sure it works BEFORE taking it apart. I tested it in the middle of this process and then freaked out when the second hand didn’t work. Thankfully I was able to tighten it and it all worked out.**

P1050025

Then I found a template for a circle that would fit over the existing face.
Yup, it’s a pot lid. If I had a compass I would have used that, but no such luck. Whatever works, right?

Plus, I couldn’t ask the mister for one because then he’d be clued in that I was making something. Total surprise was the goal.

I used scrapbook paper since it was a little sturdier
and was the biggest paper I had.

P1050027

I found the center of the circle (on my second try..lol), poked/cut a small hole there, and then cut a line from the center to the outside. This way I could slip the “face” around the clock mechanism over the existing face, and then just glue it down.

P1050029

I then wrote out all the equations for the “numbers”.

P1050030

I made sure it was lined up with where the old numbers were.
I used some handy owl stickers as placeholders. 🙂

Since my new face was a little smaller than the old one there was a little of the old face that showed, so I colored that in with black marker.

P1050031

Then I modpodged it in place and to seal it, put it back together, and viola!

Yes, there is an air bubble in the middle. *sigh*
Mod podge can be your best friend or your worst enemy
and often it is the latter for me.
I will mention that as I was trying to finish up(before the future birthday boy got home) that was when baby girl woke up and was not happy,
so I was a little hurried.

diy nerd clock

Still, I’m pretty happy with how it turned out.

I’m writing this post early so I’ll have to let you know how he liked it, too.

 

Parties…

 

2 thoughts on “DIY Nerd Clock

Leave a Reply

