Remembering on Memorial Day

Remembering…

“This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.
Greater love has no one than this, that someone lay down his life for his friends.”
John 15:12-13


via

“You have heard that it was said, ‘You shall love your neighbor and hate your enemy.’ But I say to you, Love your enemies and pray for those who persecute you.”
Matthew 5:43-44

Today we remember the men and women who paid the ultimate sacrifice and gave their lives for the friends..for their neighbors..and even for their enemies.

To them, I say thank you.

kurt
National Police Memorial in Washington D.C.

Today I also remember the sacrifice of one of my best friends,
killed in the line of duty as a deputy sheriff.

He gave his life to protect the man who shot him.
He put the others around him first.
He loved in the greatest way possible.

It’s almost been a year.

It seems like so much longer than that and yet it feels like it just happened.
And it’s still so unbelievable.
I can’t believe he’s gone.
I can’t believe he will never hold his son again,
and he never got to meet his baby girl.

What else can I say, but, thank you?
You are missed. You are loved.
You are in a better place with the God you loved so well.

May my  life look different, remembering that some gave all.
May I love as Christ commanded giving all of myself to the people around me.


 

Leave a Reply

