Thankful in my Home

I love our house.

Part of the reason for this sentiment is that I’ve just spent the past 3 hours or so cleaning it. So, suffice it to say it looks much better now.

But as I settle into the coarse, plaid couch—because the navy blue (supposed to be black) slipcover is waiting to be washed—and feel the breeze sweep through the windows, I remember how grateful I am for everything we have.

I remember how blessed we are.

P1040760

It’s super easy to become discontented or even covetous of other people’s houses. I go over to a friend’s house and see their all-matching furniture and décor with nothing out of place. Even with three hours of cleaning, my house doesn’t look like that. Plus, there are all the images I see everyday through blogs and pinterest of picture perfect, matching, contemporary, stylish homes. Which I love to see and get inspiration from, but it’s super easy to see those people’s seemingly perfect rooms and homes and not compare..and feel lacking.

Our furniture does NOT match. None of it is new. Staring at me is a golden chair that I have been fighting a losing battle to try to cover up/get rid of for over a year, and today I finally surrendered, took the blanket off of it, and let it shine.

Even after cleaning, there are still piles of crap paper that I just don’t know what to do with. And dog hair on the floor. ALWAYS the dog hair on the floor.

But it’s home. And it’s OUR home. It’s a house that my wonderful, amazing husband and I own together and get to start a family in. There are pieces of us on the walls and in most of our decorations. Our house may be “messy,” but that reflects us too. We are imperfect people. And I’m okay with that.

The dog hair means we have a dog. haha. A dog that we love (most of the time) and is part of the family. Soon we will have toys all over the house, too, which will mean that we have been blessed with a miracle.

So, I’m remembering how thankful I am for what I have.

4 thoughts on “Thankful in my Home

  1. Heidi Muszynski says:

    It is SO easy to compare ourselves to others…thanks for this reminder to remember how blessed we are!!! 🙂

  2. kimberly says:

    Liz, I have to tell you how much I enjoy reading your blog, and how much I enjoy all the creativity you have poured into your home. What makes a difference between a house and a home are the bits of you that resonate throughout the rooms, and the warmth and comfort even a guest can feel. You have accomplished that. Kudos to you!

Leave a Reply

