Dresser, Dresser, How Shall I Paint Thee?

Is it bad that I always want to start my posts with “So…”?
I guess that’s how I start stories. 😉

Anywho, I hope all you mommas out there had a wonderful day yesterday.
Just so you don’t think I forgot, HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY!
My heart also goes out to those who struggle on Mother’s Day, since it reminds them of what they don’t have, or who they don’t have.
So, know that you are being thought of and prayed for and loved, too.

TODAY I’m going to show you the dresser I was working on all weekend
for baby girl’s room.

Ok, I lied, I don’t think I’m actually going to show you the finished dresser today. I’m just going to tease you and show you tomorrow. 😉

P1040722

We had been scouring Goodwill/Craigslist for a good dresser and had come up with NADA. Until a very generous friend asked if we could use a dresser and side tables for free. Ummmm, thank YOU and thank you Lord!!

Not too shabby, huh?
But of course, I’m me, so I’m gunna paint it.

The problem was, HOW to paint it???

I’m not sophisticated enough to know how to use fancy pantsy computer programs, so I whipped up some options on good ol’ paint.

dresser 1

Option #1
The outside white and the drawers some of the bright colors of the nursery that are included in the (someday) curtains and owls, etc.

dresser 2

Option #2
The outside white with all the drawers pink.
I even included the hardware on this one.

Sidebar: I was going to get rid of the drawer pulls, but my super smart hubby suggested keeping them and painting them. LOVE it sooo much better this way and kept it all free. 😉

dresser 3

Option #3
I was a little limited with the color options in paint, but imagine that the pink goes from light to dark. I reeally liked the ombre thing. White outside, obviously.

dresser 4

Option #4
Okay, so you really have to use your imagination for this one. White outside, then stripes of all the different colors in varying widths on the drawers.
Hubby goes, “Didn’t we learn our lesson with
stripes?”

dresser 5

Option #5
This one is very similar to numero uno.
White outside, different color drawers, but with the light blue thrown in.

So, what do you think??

It was a hard decision, for sure. But I’m suuuuper excited about the result.
One step closer to the nursery being done. 🙂

Any guesses to which one we went with?

4 thoughts on “Dresser, Dresser, How Shall I Paint Thee?

  1. Carolyn says:

    I like Option #3! I like the changing pink colors! Very cool examples to show us, by the way. If I needed a second, probably #2 and #5 as my third choice. 🙂 Have fun!

Leave a Reply

