What I Thought of The Help

So..one of my resolutions for this year was to read more.

I used to read ALL the time when I was younger–loved it–but then not so much once I hit high school.
Because I replaced books with friends.
And I’m still okay with that.

Last year I succeeded in reading more. yay.
So this was just kind of a..continued…resolution.

I thought an easy goal to set for myself would be to read at least one book a month
and then write what I thought about it on this here blog.
Now, I can hear your sarcastic “woooow, one  book in a month” through the computer screen.
But listen, I’m setting a realistic balanced goal here.
Don’t judge me.

Plus, that always leaves the possibility of reading more, but now I at least have some small sort of accountability.

So, January’s book was The Help.

via

Just in case you don’t know the plot…

“Three ordinary women are about to take one extraordinary step.
Twenty-two-year-old Skeeter has just returned home after graduating from Ole Miss. She may have a degree, but it is 1962, Mississippi, and her mother will not be happy till Skeeter has a ring on her finger. Skeeter would normally find solace with her beloved maid Constantine, the woman who raised her, but Constantine has disappeared and no one will tell Skeeter where she has gone.
Aibileen is a black maid, a wise, regal woman raising her seventeenth white child. Something has shifted inside her after the loss of her own son, who died while his bosses looked the other way. She is devoted to the little girl she looks after, though she knows both their hearts may be broken.
Minny, Aibileen’s best friend, is short, fat, and perhaps the sassiest woman in Mississippi. She can cook like nobody’s business, but she can’t mind her tongue, so she’s lost yet another job. Minny finally finds a position working for someone too new to town to know her reputation. But her new boss has secrets of her own.
Seemingly as different from one another as can be, these women will nonetheless come together for a clandestine project that will put them all at risk. And why? Because they are suffocating within the lines that define their town and their times. And sometimes lines are made to be crossed.
In pitch-perfect voices, Kathryn Stockett creates three extraordinary women whose determination to start a movement of their own forever changes a town, and the way women—mothers, daughters, caregivers, friends—view one another. A deeply moving novel filled with poignancy, humor, and hope, The Help is a timeless and universal story about the lines we abide by, and the ones we don’t.”

I read it in like three days.
(Yeah, mr. sarcastic pants, take that. I never claimed to be a slow reader.)
And I LOVED it.
5 stars.

My thoughts…

-It is very well written.

-It is very moving. I love books that inspire/change me–this is definitely one of those books.

-It’s funny. I laughed out loud at quite a few parts and then had to re-read it out loud for the hubby. Even out of context, it still got a laugh.

-It’s intense. I got really involved with the characters and when something happened to them..it was hard to read.

If you haven’t read it yet…WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?
I didn’t really want to do a “book review” because once I started writing it, it just felt so college essay-ish. But, I would gladly talk about more if anyone is interested. 😉

Also, really liked the movie as well. Stayed mostly true to the book (although I couldn’t help myself pointing out the differences to the hubby when we watched it–he’s a trooper).

Great message.

You is smart. You is kind. You is important.

We are just two people. Not that much separates us. Not nearly as much as I’d thought.

All I’m saying is, kindness don’t have no boundaries.

Leave a Reply

