Hey Kids, I’m Having A Baby!

So, after keeping the baby a secret for an entire month we were pah-retty durn excited to tell people.
Of course, we were super excited to tell family and friends, but I gotta be honest, one of the groups of people I was most excited to tell was my Pre K class.

And let me tell you…they did not disappoint. 😉

I told them that I was gunna be a Mommy, I had a baby in my tummy, and my belly was going to get bigger and bigger.

I also made the mistake(?) of telling them, as my BabyCenter email told me, that the baby was about the size of a grape.

“When does the grape come out?”
“Can I see it?”
“Can I eat it?”

All the girls think it’s going to be a girl. All the boys think it’s going to be a boy.

“Will you still come to school even when your tummy is big?”
Me: Yup.
“Can we laugh at you?”

Me: Can you laugh at me?
“Well, can we laugh at your baby?”

Me: Nope.
“What if it has a funny name?”

I don’t love being greeted every morning with…”Miss Liz, your tummy is getting so fat!” But I do love getting lots and lots of kisses and tickles on my belly. I think they talk to it now as much as they talk to me.

I overheard this conversation with another teacher..

Teacher: No, the baby doesn’t come out of the belly button.
Little boy: Do they have to cut you open to get it out?
Teacher: Well, sometimes.
Little boy: Ahhhh! I don’t ever want to have a baby!
Teacher: Boys can’t get pregnant, only girls.
Little boy: (point to girl across from him) Ah ha! You have to have a baby and I don’t!

I have also gotten many recommendations for baby names…
Selena
Mia
Kara
Jackson
Lisa
Jake
Lisa and Jake (if it’s twins)
Princess
Cutie Pie
Pumpkin Pie
Miss Lizzy

Always an adventure. I’ll keep you posted on the baby. And the kids. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Hey Kids, I’m Having A Baby!

  1. Kaitlin Snyder says:

    that is sooo cute. preK kids are the best- i should know- i have one:) can you believe that? my baby is going to kindergarten in the fall! crazy! i am so happy for you liz- you will be a wonderful mommy:)

Leave a Reply

