Pin Worthy Tuesday: Melted Crayon Art

Today I am excited to show another homemade Christmas present.

I am writing this post early since I haven’t had time to make anything else, but the plan was to exchange Christmas presents with this gift’s receiver last night. So the coast is theoretically clear.

A little pinsperation?

via

Ever since I have first seen this I have reeeeally wanted to give it a try.

And what better motivation than for a close friend’s Christmas present??

Super simple.

You line up your crayons in the order you want them.
(I scavenged these crayons that were going to be thrown away after last year’s pre-k class since we get all new supplies at the beginning of the year.)

Make sure to keep the crayons away from your dog who WILL eat them.

Hot glue your crayons down to your surface (I used canvas).

Then, melt ’em down!

I did this inside (bad idea?) but used a massive piece of cardboard to prop up behind my canvas.

Did I get was on the dresser and the floor?
Yes.
Am I sorry?
No.

It’s cold outside. πŸ˜‰

I just used a hair dryer (you can use a heat tool if you have one) and pointed it directly at the crayons.
I was surprised at how quickly and easily they melted. Just focus your heat and those babies melt away.

My crayon meltings splattered a little bit (probably because I held my hair dryer near the bottom of the crayons instead of at the top), but I liked that effect.

You can even add a quotation at the bottom if you would like. πŸ™‚

This was one of the most satisfying projects I’ve ever done.

You know, when the end product actually looks like the picture you had in your head
and it didn’t take you eight years to do.

I hope she loves it! πŸ™‚

Linking up..

Home Stories A2Z
2 thoughts on “Pin Worthy Tuesday: Melted Crayon Art

Leave a Reply

