Christmas Fantle

Hi. I’m back. Did you miss me?

Cuz I missed you!

It’s been killing me to not have the time to create or blog anything.
But the Christmas season + a full time job + being sick + being in a Christmas show that has 4-5 performances per weekend for three weekends = little to no spare time.

And, let’s be honest, the free time I have had has been spent sleeping
or spending time with the mister and other beloved people.

But, I did manage to decorate for Christmas a little and snap a few pictures of it, so I thought I’d share. πŸ˜‰

This is our fantle, or fake mantle. Since we certainly don’t have a fireplace of mantle.
Instead I just use our china cabinet we got off craigslist (it was a steal people).

It has a slot that all our Christmas cards (and anniversary cards..hehe) fit into so nicely.
Prominent is our glass nativity set that we got as a wedding present.

Which we LOVE and for the LIFE of me I can’t remember who gave it to us. So sorry….

There He is. The reason for the season.

Here’s my question though, and please don’t get mad at me for asking this:
Why do they pose baby Jesus like that??

Maybe He’s supposed to be receiving the adoration He’s receiving. But it looks like He’s saying, “What up?”

Now, understand (as I do) that it’s just an artist’s rendition of what they thought the nativity scene might possibly look like. It’s just a funny pose. πŸ˜‰

Don’t even get me started on having the “three” wise men at the nativity since they didn’t come until he was a toddler. πŸ™‚

Maybe I should just stick with the decorating. haha.

The wooden bowl I scored at Goodwill and holds some ornaments I borrowed from the tree. I still feel fairly new at this whole “decorating” thing, so I stayed very traditional. Red and green.

Look! It’s the living room.

You mean, you STILL haven’t done a “room reveal” on the living room
and yet you’ve shown just about every nook and cranny??

Yes, that’s exactly what I mean. I still haven’t made my couch pillows.

Anywho, this is a little tiny nativity that was a gift from my momma a while back and I just love it.
They’re just so cute!

Mistletoe, anyone?

Not only do I love having mistletoe to hang around during the holidays, but this is even SENTIMENTAL mistletoe.

It was a prop from one of the first plays I was ever in. πŸ™‚ I was little, elementary school for sure, and it was Klinkenschnell the Christmas Bell: A Children’s Musical.

Delightful, right??

I only remember it because my friend Jason WAS the German Christmas bell that rung us four kids back in time to witness the Christmas story.

I held that mistletoe over one of my fellow actors and “tried” to kiss him over and over in many a scene. Thankfully I was thwarted every time. It was children’s theatre after all.

And our tree.

Both the mister and I grew up on non-themed Christmas trees and that is what we love. We both have ornaments from our childhoods on there and even some teacher ornaments. πŸ™‚

Plus, two of my favorite ornaments..our initials. πŸ™‚

So those are just some Christmas-y things that make me smile every time I see them and get super excited for going home to be with family for that special time.

Thanks for being here.

One thought on “Christmas Fantle

Leave a Reply

