Pin Worthy Tuesday: Rope Framed Clock

It’s that time again. Tuesday. And you know what that means…

I’m kind of really super excited about today’s project. But you need the back story first to truly appreciate it.
Trust me. You do.

“Lemme ‘splain. No, there is too much. Lemme sum up.”
(Princess Bride anyone?)

Many moons ago I was wandering the hallowed halls of Hobby Lobby with the mister. We were in our favorite isle–the clearance isle–when, BEHOLD, I saw it! A BIG, beautiful clock, with a beautiful frame, on clearance for $20.

via

This clock here to be exact. Regular price $109.99.

ON CLEARANCE FOR $20!!!

So, naturally, I was like, “Can we get it? Please, please, please!”
And the hubs was all like, “Does it work?”
And then I was all like, “Does it MATTER?? It’s pretty!”

Thankfully my husband is a champ and after I..I mean,after he carried it around the store for another half hour,
he eventually conceded.

When we got home I preceded to take the clock out of it’s beautiful frame (the REASON I bought it) and replaced it with my circle mirror that we found at a garage sale for $3. Perfect fit. Score. They all lived happily ever after. The end.

BUT,
meanwhile the clock and it’s circular (very sharp) glass sat around and even made it through the move from our apartment to our house with only one minor injury. (I’m sorry, baby. Love you!)

After discovering that the clock parts do indeed work, I decided to look for some inspiration as to what we could use for a frame for our clock that would a) look good and b) be SAFE so that no one else would cut their hand (STILL sorry!).

My PINSPERATION!

via

ROPE! Genius!

My supplies for this surprisingly easy project.

-Sisal rope ($8 for 50 feet at local hardware store)
-Mod Podge
-Quick Grip Glue
-Hot glue (not shown)

First, I modpodged the paper down to the metal frame. I smoothed it out with the back of a butterknife. It still bubbled horribly. I’m pretending it didn’t. Pretend with me please.

I then used the quick grip to glue down the glass to the metal frame. Once that dried (or seemed to be secure enough to glue rope on top of) I started hot gluing the rope to the glass.

I started around the sharp edge of the glass. Putting down a long line of hot glue and putting the rope on top.
Then I used the first “row” of rope to use as a guide for the second.

I did three rows of rope. You could do more or less depending on how you want it to look. (Remember, please ignore horrific bubbling.)

It seriously worked like a dream. The rope was thick so I never once burned myself with the hot glue and it feels very secure. Sisal rope is my new favorite medium to work with.

Now, we just have to figure out a way to hang it on the wall since there’s no hooks or anything on the back.
I know just where it’s going to live, too.

Moral of the story: Buying something on clearance that may or may not work is worth it if you can be create with it’s use. And especially if you can get TWO decorative pieces out of it.

Moral of the story two: Please be careful when handling glass.

Thanks for reading.

Linking up…

Home Stories A2Z

Photobucket

The 36th Avenue

2 thoughts on “Pin Worthy Tuesday: Rope Framed Clock

Leave a Reply

