Feeling Thankful

Thanksgiving is coming.
At least that’s what I hear now that Halloween is over and we need something new to look forward to.

“Thanksgiving Day is coming. Gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble. And I know I’ll be eaten sooOOOooon. Gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble. I would like to run awaaa-aa-aAAAY. Gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble, gobble. I don’t like Thanksgiving Day.”

My momma taught me the turkey song when I was little. Last year I couldn’t remember how it went and she called and left it on a voicemail. Let’s just say I listened to that more than once. 🙂

via

Thanksgiving is definitely one of my favorite holidays.
I LOVE the traditional turkey, mashed potatoes, buttered rolls, green bean casserole..need I go on? Yes..pumpkin pie, cherry cobbler… Let’s just say I love the food.

Also, the hallowed holiday now holds special significance in my heart since that’s the day the mister and I first started dating two years ago (after Thanksgiving at his grandma’s house which was my FIRST time meeting the family). And got married a little more than a year later. In fact, today marks 23 days until our one year anniversary.
**Insert obligatory “awhhhh” here**

Anywho, the point of this post is that I was inspired by some facebook posts to start being thankful now instead of waiting to do it all on Thanksgiving.
(Yes, we should be thankful all the time, but I love the special reminder we get on Thanksgiving.)

via

I am thankful for…
a warm house. a home that we actually own. a loving, supportive, funny, godly (thousand other adjectives) husband. a loving family. amazing, inspiring friends both near and far. a good job. a great church family. having more than enough. always knowing where my next meal is coming from. being able to do things that bring me joy..like creating. my Lampost family. our doting, affectionate dog. safety. my health. the many freedoms I enjoy every day.

This is just a starter list to get my heart focused in the right direction, but I think thankfulness is such a perspective changer. When I think about ALL the things I have and enjoy, it really minimizes so many other things that I might otherwise complain about.

Thanks for reading!
(Yes! I’m thankful for YOU too!)

What are you thankful for?

2 thoughts on “Feeling Thankful

  1. Oh boy, what am I thankful for? I’m thankful for God’s pursuit of redemption in my life and the hard/and crazy things He’s willing to do to make me love Him more. And of course, I’m thankful for you too, you know I just had to stick that in there. =)

Leave a Reply

