A Clean Stove and Other Philosophical Ponderings

A.K.A. Growing Up

So…I’m not the cleanest person in the world.

via

(I looked for a picture of a mess, but liked this better!)

But I have noticed a HUGE shift in the way that I view cleaning.

Picture this..little high school Lizzy.

Not really concerned with the dog’s hair on the floor or the dust on the furniture or the dishes in the sink.

Lizzy: Mom, can I have some friends over?
Mom: Have you seen this house??
Lizzy: They don’t care mom…

Which, as we all know, pretty much translated into I don’t care, Mom.

Well, here are those beautiful words every parent longs to hear.

YOU. WERE. RIGHT.

Now, that I have a house of my own, I care.

I CARE that the dog leaves hair EVERYWHERE in huge clumps.
I CARE that there seem to always be dishes in the sink, and quite frankly, they STINK.
I CARE that the laundry IS NEVER DONE. Seriously..that stuff reproduces itself. I can pick up every. single. piece. of dirty clothing in our house and still, somehow there’s a full basket of dirty laundry the next day. (And there’s only two of us!!)

I CARE that there is grime underneath the stove burners and splatters on the wall.

Which is why, I cleaned it. I washed the dishes. I wiped down the counters and walls. I ignored the laundry. I scrubbed underneath every burner and wiped that whole stove clean.

And you know what? I went to bed feeling a little bit happier knowing that even though the rest of the house might be dirty and we spent a majority of the evening rearranging the living room, the kitchen was clean.

Ahhh the joys of becoming an adult. 😉

3 thoughts on “A Clean Stove and Other Philosophical Ponderings

  1. Funny! I had to read this when I saw the link on facebook… my stovetop is always dirty. Unless company is coming over and I hastily clean it. Embarrassing!

  2. Shanna says:

    A hearty “AMEN!!” to all of the above.
    It is TRULY said: A man may work from sun to sun, but a woman’s work is NEVER DONE.
    When there are no more dishes or laundry to do, it will be because civilization is starving and naked.
    Good job! Stove looks FAB!
    xo

Leave a Reply

