What Two Years Can Bring

Why, yes, hold on to your pantaloons, I’m about to wax sentimental.
(Some of you may have heard this story before..or are sick of it..if so, bail now!)

TWO YEARS.

Two years ago I finished my nearly 2,000 mile trek from northeast to midwest and arrived in Cedar Falls, Iowa.

WHERE?!?

That’s what I thought. I passed my destination point–Lampost Theatre–because I was too scared to pull in the first time. (Then I pulled in and sat in my car for a while.)
THEN, I girded up my loins summoned up my courage and walked in to my new home.

MY NEW HOME.

The one I had never seen before with the roomates I had never met for the job I hardly knew what it entailed in the city (and state!) I had never even visited before. Oh, that home.

You know what was there to greet me as soon as I stepped a foot through those mosaic covered doors?
A big ol’ bearhug from this southern gal.


(Jordyn, Me)

That was the beginning of Iowa becoming HOME for me.
The next day, October 26, 2009, I met the man I would marry…


(this guuyyyyyy)

I had no idea what two years would bring. I had no idea that I would still be in Iowa. And loving it. And content knowing that I am in the center of God’s will and exactly where He wants me.

Rewind two years and I was terrified. I didn’t know where I was or where I was going. I planned on working at the theatre for a year and then moving back home and figuring the next step. God had other plans. He asked me to go to Iowa. I took a step in faith.

via
(much like our friend Indiana Jones in The Last Crusade)

And I am so so thankful for where God has brought me and the many, many blessings He has poured over me.

Thanks for reading. If you have any questions about my story, feel free to ask. 🙂

P.S. Exciting news still to come later today! (No..we’re not pregnant.)

6 thoughts on “What Two Years Can Bring

Leave a Reply

