Let the Games Begin

Can I tell you about our awesome gaming table?

We found this table and two matching side tables for $30. SCORE! Plus, the money went to sending one of our friends on a missions trip to Kenya. **figurative high five…awesome!** (name that t.v. show). The tables were well-loved and had quite a few dents and scratches. So what was left to do? Paint them! Why yes, I do believe you can spray paint anything. **insert cheesy wink**

Oh, did I mention it was a gaming table? So it does THIS!

Anywho, the first thing you needs to do is fill in the dents/scratches with wood filler. Just slather a bunch on and then wipe it so that it is level.

Make sure you give the whole table a nice, even sanding so that the paint will look the same all over.

Sand, baby, sand! (Yes, it’s a gross picture. But safety first!)

Now, THAT is a well sanded table! It’s very important to clean your surface from all the sawdust that is now EVERYWHERE. We used a shop vac to get the majority and then wiped it down with a moist rag. Next comes the fun part..painting. We used Rustoleum’s Ultra Cover Black spray paint for this step.

And by “we” I mean I had the mister paint and I took pictures. I helped too! But someone had to document the process.

We stuck the paint can lids under the table’s leaves so that it could dry without sticking to the other surface. (Aren’t we clever?? I keep saying “we”, it was the mister’s idea.) Now, the tricky part. We really wanted a pop of color, but without a neon piece of furniture in the room. Insert Rustoleum’s Ultra Cover Lagoon spraypaint for just the “gaming” surface of the table. Tape off the hinges (we used just masking tape, but you can use painter’s tape, too) and then use an exacto knife to cut off the excess.

Then, get back to painting! I really recommend both Rustoleum’s brand and the Ultra Cover 2x Coverage. It really is like buying two paint cans in one.

Why yes, it was a little spotty at first. Which is why it’s SO important to sand well. The inside of the table didn’t have as many scratches so we didn’t sand it nearly as much. Well, we paid for it later and had to give it another coat to cover up some of those spots. SAND, BABY, SAND.

I love it! I love that you only see a hint of blue with the table closed and then wa-chow!

Do you love the rug? Me too. I’ll do a reveal on the living room at some point, but for now, consider yourself teased.

Linking up to my very first the best ever linky parties at Crafty, Scrappy, Happy and Tatertots and Jello.

2 thoughts on “Let the Games Begin

  1. Ohhh my goodness what an amazing table!!! I love all of the great advice too!!!! Thank you SOOOO much for linking up! You have inspired me to wish for a table just like that one!!! It is just perfect and has wonderful character! :o)
    Jaime from crafty scrappy happy

  2. Sean says:

    I am super jealous that I have to play all my board games on my tiny dining room table… That said, this looks great and I like the color you used!

    -Sean (Meghan’s Sean, not some other Sean, or worse – a Shawn)

Leave a Reply

