Wonderfully Made Pursuits

Where the name came from…


(pinterest)

I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well. Psalm 139:14 (ESV)

I LOVE that I worship a Creative God. He took nothing..a formless void..and created everything. He MADE it. The word “made” is in the ESV 1, 215 times. Most of the verses that I looked at, it was God that did the making. But even better than that, the Creator God made me in His image. He created man to create.

I’m not sure if this is where I first fell in love with this concept or not, but as a drama student at a Christian college we talked about this a lot. This idea of taking something and making something else out of it. I could take my voice and my body and create a character out of it in a different place and different time and the audience would go there with me. And when I create I am bearing the image of my Creator.

Sometimes the things I make aren’t always “wonderful” which is where the pursuit part comes in. I do think that there’s beauty in imperfection (although sometimes I struggle with accepting that when it applies to personal things like appearance or how dirty my house is). But I think there’s also beauty in the pursuit of things..in the making…in the process.

And so, I make. I create. I make paper flowers and I paint things and I paint on things. I know I can never aspire to the Creator (He starts from nothings and creates, and makes things much better than me..like people.) But in wonderfully making, then I am reflecting Him.

Leave a Reply

