DIY Laundry Pedestal

Standard

One of the beautiful things about blogging is that it’s a great way to document not only things that I make, but also things that the hubs and other family members make also.

This laundry pedestal was on our to-do list for a while especially since we bought a front loading washer and dryer when we moved into our house two years ago. Mike actually finished this back in the summer, but I’m just getting to posting about it now. At least it helps to remember when we could be outside with no coats. :)

I won’t really be doing a tutorial, since I’m not the one that built it and I didn’t really take many pictures of the process, but if that’s something you’d be interested in let me know and we’ll see what we can whip up.

The top was one solid piece of thick, white particle board/plywood and the bottom was one piece of plywood. The rest was a frame the hubs built to support the washer/dryer, but also have enough space to store our laundry baskets underneath.

laundry pedestal (4)

I painted all the wood that wasn’t already white with some white primer. Let me tell you, it was a little difficult to paint some of the legs and base.

laundry pedestal (5)

Then I painted the outer frame and base this sweet blue that we found in the “oops section” of the paint section. I have no idea what it is called, but we got the whole gallon for less than $4. Let’s call it Paradise Island. The white surface is some kind of laminate so I knew any blue paint I got on it would just scratch off when dry and the appliances would cover most of the white so it didn’t really matter that it wasn’t blue.

laundry pedestal (3)

And here it is in the basement! The laundry room and, well, the whole basement is a work in progress as none of it is finished and the previous owners left us with drywall cut in half among other things. So, please forgive me if I don’t show you the whole room.

laundry pedestal (1)

It has been SUCH a helpful addition to our house and I can’t wait to update the space around it to make it all useful and attractive.

laundry pedestal (2)
Thanks for being here!

2 responses »

  1. What a brilliant idea for front loading machines! Then you’re not stooped over the whole time you’re doing laundry! Nice job, brother! (you, too, sis!)

Leave a Reply

